Tibbs Dementia Conference

Recently I attended a conference on dementia, held by Tibbs Dementia Foundation at Bedford Modern School, which I found very interesting and insightful.

Tibbs Dementia Foundation

 

Tibbs Dementia Foundation is a local organisation in the area I live in, Bedfordshire, that aims to create a dementia friendly community, to those who are living with the disease.

The conference I attended consisted of talks from the organisers of the foundation, and also speeches by two men who are living with dementia, who gave a great account of what it’s like to live with the disorder. After the talks, I went around the different workshops and had some great discussions with different people about dementia, where I learnt a lot about the effects it has. I particularly found the dementia Q&A workshop interesting as it allowed me to find out more about dementia and the people who live with it, and many of my questions were answered.

You can see me at the corner of workshop 1!
You can see me at the corner of workshop 1!

I learnt that dementia is difficult to deal with as there is no treatment or cure, but I found that by dealing with it in the right way, you can make a positive impact on the lives of the people living with it.

I found the evening very insightful, and am inspired by the great work that the Tibbs Dementia Foundation are doing. I now want to expand on what I learnt at the conference, and apply myself to help dementia sufferers feel more comfortable in the great dementia community that Tibbs are creating. I am currently in the process of organising volunteering in a dementia home, as I really want to make a difference where possible.

You can find the foundation here on their website if you are interested in seeing what they do -http://www.tibbsdementia.co.uk/index.html

Leave a Reply

