My Journey to Bangladesh: The night before

So tomorrow I will be waking up, getting on a plane and flying to Bangladesh for my 3 week stay, volunteering at the Centre for the Rehabilitation of the Paralysed. It’s come so quickly!

I can’t wait, but if I’m going to be honest I’m a little nervous. The world isn’t the safest place at the moment, and recent goings on in Bangladesh and the world at large have caused concern for the trip with myself, friends and family. There have been lots of doubts and questions on whether or not I should go and help, or stay at home and play it safe. However, I have decided that I want to go, as care has no boundaries and I want to make a difference whenever possible, especially in an area where I can make such a positive difference to peoples lives.

Originally, back in September when I started organising the trip, it was for the purpose of adding something unique to my CV, making myself seem like a better candidate for medicine, with an edge over other applicants. That however, has changed dramatically! Over the past few months I have had the chance to plan my visit and to realise how passionate I am to help people. I would be going even if I had decided medicine wasn’t for me. It has become so much more than just a tick in a box and I cannot wait to see how I will be able to improve the lives of others less fortunate and how that will affect me as a person. I have never experienced anything like it before in my life, and it is incredibly nerve-racking to think that in 24 hours I will be in an environment completely unknown to myself. Suddenly my dream of becoming a doctor will become incredibly real, as I am thrust in to the daily life of the Centre for the Rehabilitation of the Paralysed. Although it makes me slightly anxious, I have never been more excited!

I will miss my family, I will miss my bed, I will miss my friends, but I will hopefully have the experience of a lifetime, that I will not forget. I’ll be back in 3 weeks, watch this space…

Leave a Reply

