My Journey to Bangladesh

This Summer I will be travelling to Savar in Bangladesh for 3 weeks, in order to volunteer for the Centre for the Rehabilitation of the Paralysed (CRP).CRP-Bangladesh entrance

Yea, I know what you’re thinking. Isn’t Bangladesh pretty far just to do volunteering? Why can’t you just volunteer here in England? Those are very good questions that I am about to answer.

I want to travel to Bangladesh to put myself into a new environment, and challenge myself in an atmosphere I have never experienced before. I want to push myself to my limits and test my boundaries, learning more about myself and my abilities. Yes it will be daunting, and I may receive a shock upon arrival, but I believe the experience will develop my character, and give me a better understanding of healthcare in a developing country.

During my time abroad I hope to use my sporting skills in rugby to organise a rugby skills programme during the afternoon sporting sessions that CRP hold 5 times a week, where I plan to teach patients the basics of the sport and provide a means of entertainment and exercise.

As well as implicating a sporting programme, I would look to use my skills and passion for music and drama to teach patients songs and comfort them with music on a guitar, and would also look to set up a small musical performance within the community, involving the patients, allowing them to explore the field of musical drama and hopefully provide them with an experience that is new to them.

I would be really appreciative of any advice people could give me for my time in Bangladesh, and would be interested in hearing any stories from people who have undertaken a similar trip.

If you are interested in keeping up to date on my journey, keep an eye on the blog here, and follow me on twitter @cjwmcintyre, where you will be updated when I make a new post.

Leave a Reply

